Illustration made by Ida Björs
 

Candidates 2019

246 candidates from 64 countries are nominated to the 2019 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. The candidates were presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair on October 11 by the ALMA-jury chair Boel Westin. The list below is a gold mine for anyone interested in children's and YA literature. Enjoy!

Links lead to more information, often in the candidate's own language. The 2019 ALMA laureate will be announced on April 2, 2019.

 

Antigua and Barbuda
Joy Lawrence, Promoter of reading

Argentina
Maria Teresa Andruetto, Author http://teresaandruetto.com.ar/
CEDILIJ, Organisation
Jorge Luján, Author
Istvansch Schritter, Author/Illustrator/Promoter of reading Web page

Australia
Randa Abdel-Fattah, Author Web page
Ursula Dubosarsky, Author Web page
Mem Fox, Author https://memfox.com/
Susanne Gervay, Author Web page
Morris Gleitzman, Author https://www.morrisgleitzman.com/
Indigenous Literary Foundation, Organisation Web page
Robert Ingpen, Illustrator http://robertingpen.com/about/
Margo Lanagan, Author Web page
Melina Marchetta, Author Web page 
Margaret Wild, Author Web page

Austria
Renate Welsh-Rabady, Author
Linda Wolfsgruber, Illustrator Web page
Lisbeth Zwerger, Illustrator

Azerbaijan
Gasham Isabayli, Author
Sevinj Nurugizi, Author https://muse.jhu.edu/article/539721

Belgium
Carll Cneut, Illustrator
Anne Herbauts, Author/Illustrator Web page
Bart Moeyaert, Author http://www.bartmoeyaert.com/
Prix Bernard Versele, Organisation
Marie Wabbes, Author/Illustrator https://www.mariewabbes.com/
Klaas Verplancke, Author/Illustrator https://www.klaas.be/

Bolivia
Biblioteca Thurucapitas, Organisation
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Šimo Ešić, Author
Fahrudin Kučuk, Author

Brazil
Ana Maria Machado, Author Web page
Roger Mello, Author/Illustrator Web page

Bulgaria
Maya Dalgacheva, Author
Viktor Samuilov, Author
Julia Spiridonova, Author
Lyuben Zidarov, Illustrator

Canada
Deborah Ellis, Author http://deborahellis.com/
Sarah Ellis, Author http://sarahellis.ca/
Marie-Francine Hébert, Author Web page
Troy Kent, Promoter of reading http://www.troykent.com/
Jon Klassen, Author/Illustrator http://jonklassen.tumblr.com/

China
Zhang Zhilu, Author

Democratic Republic of Congo/United Kingdom
Dominique Mwankumi, Author/Illustrator

Croatia
Andrea Petrlik Huseinović, Illustrator Web page
Read to Me Campaign, Organisation Web page

Cyprus
Maria Pyliotou, Author Web page
Czech Republic
Petr Nikl, Author/Illustrator
Květa Pacovská, Illustrator

Denmark
Kim Fupz Aakeson, Author
Lilian Brøgger, Illustrator Web page
Louis Jensen, Author Web page
Dorte Karrebaek, Illustrator

Ecuador
Edna Iturralde, Author Web page

Estonia
Piret Raud, Author http://piretraud.com/
Ulla Saar, Illustrator http://www.ullasaar.net/
Leelo Tungal, Author

Faroe Islands
Rakel Helmsdal, Author/Illustrator/Oral storyteller/Promoter of reading

Finland
Linda Bondestam, Illustrator http://www.lindabondestam.com/
Marika Maijala, Author/Illustrator Web page
Timo Parvela, Author http://timoparvela.fi/en/
Laura Ruohonen & Erika Kallasmaa, Author and Illustrator Web pag Laura and Web pag Erika
Salla Savolainen, Author/Illustrator Web page
Maria Turtschaninoff, Author Web page

France
A.C.C.E.S., Organisation Web page
Benjamin Chaud, Author/Illustrator Web page
Les Doigts qui rêvent, Organisation http://www.ldqr.org/
Olivier Douzou, Author/Illustrator Web page Timothée de Fombelle, Author Web page
Bernard Friot, Author Web page
Jean-Claude Mourlevat, Author Web page
Marie-Aude Murail, Author
Geneviéve Patte, Promoter of reading https://laissezleslire.com/
Marjane Satrapi, Author/Illustrator Web page
Joann Sfar, Author/Illustrator

Georgia
Bondo Matsaberidze, Author Web page
Tea Topuria, Author Web page

Germany
Aljoscha Blau, Illustrator http://www.aljoschablau.com/
Nadia Budde, Author/Illustrator http://www.nadiabudde.de/
Cornelia Funke, Author/Illustrator Web page
Nikolaus Heidelbach, Illustrator
International Youth Library, Organisation Web page
Janosch, Author/Illustrator
Labor Ateliergemeinschaft, Organisation Web page
Eva Muggenthaler, Author/Illustrator Web page
Mirjam Pressler, Author Web page
Stiftung Lesen/German Reading Foundation, Organisation Web page

Greece
Vagelis Iliopoulos, Author/Promoter of reading
Library4all, Organisation Web page
Antonis Papatheodoulou, Author Web page
Yolanda Pateraki, Author
Eugene Trivizas, Author

Greenland
Naja Rosing-Asvid, Author/Illustrator Web page
Lene Therkildsen, Promoter of reading Web page

Hungary
Istvan Csukas, Author
Hungarian Fairy Tale and Story Museum, Organisation Web page
János Lackfi, Author Web page
Tibor Zalán, Author

Iceland
Ævar Þór Benediktsson, Promoter of reading Web page

India
A & A Book Trust, Organisation Web page
Katha, Organisation https://katha.org/
Pratham Books, Organisation Web page

Indonesia
Murti Bunanta, Promoter of reading Web page

Iran
Children’s Book Council, Organisation Web page
Farhad Hassanzadeh, Author Web page
Jamshid Khanian, Author Web page
Mobile Library of Iran, Organisation
Narges Mohammadi, Illustrator Web page
Houshang Moradi Kermani, Author
Read with Me, Organisation Web page
Aliasghar Seidabadi, Promoter of reading Web page

Ireland
Chris Judge, Author Web page
PJ Lynch, Illustrator Web page
Sheena Wilkinson, Author Web page

Israel
Rutu Modan, Author/Illustrator

Italy
Beatrice Alemagna, Author/Illustrator Web page
Chiara Carminati, Author
Lampedusa Library, Organisation
Sarolta Szulyovszky, Illustrator Web page

Ivory Coast
Fatou Keita, Author/Promoter of Reading Web page

Japan
Kyoko Matsuoka, Promoter of reading Webpage

Jordan
Taghrid al-Najjar, Author Web page

Republic of Korea
Heena Baek, Illustrator
Lee Juyoung, Promoter of reading
Lee Uk-Bae, Illustrator

Latvia
Gundega Muzikante, Illustrator Web page
Inese Zandere, Author Web page

Lebanon/Belgium
Fatima Sharafeddine, Author Web page

Lithuania
Kestutis Kasparavicius, Author/Illustrator Web page

Mexico
Silvia Dubovoy, Author

Netherlands
De Schrijverscentrale, Organisation Web page
Joke van Leeuwen, Author/Illustrator Web page
Gideon Samson, Author http://www.gideonsamson.nl/
Toon Tellegen, Author
Thé Tjong-Khing, Illustrator https://www.thetjongkhing.nl/
Marit Törnqvist, Author/Illustrator
Edward van de Vendel, Author
Sylvia Weve, Illustrator http://www.sylviaweve.com/?home

New Zealand
Joy Cowley, Author/Promoter of reading

Nicaragua
German Nicaraguan Library and the Bibliobús Bertold Brecht, Organisation Web page

Norway
Lene Ask, Illustrator http://leneask.blogspot.com/
Rune Belsvik, Author Web page
Gro Dahle, Author Web page
Harald Rosenløw Eeg, Author http://roseeg.no/?page_id=45
Fam Ekman, Author/Illustrator
Anna Fiske, Author/Illustrator http://annafiske.com/
Foreningen !les, Organisation Web page
Stian Hole, Author/Illustrator
Marit Kaldhol, Author Web page
Gry Moursund, Author/Illustrator
Svein Nyhus, Author/Illustrator Web page
Maria Parr, Author Web page
Bjørn Rørvik, Author
Øyvind Torseter, Illustrator Web page

Palestine
Sonia Nimr, Author

Philippines
Virgilio Senadren Almario, Author
Neni Sta. Romana Cruz, Promoter of reading

Poland
All of Poland Reads to Kids, Organisation Web page
Ola Cieślak, Illustrator http://olazbloku.pl/
Małgorzata Musierowicz, Author Web page
Paweł Pawlak, Illustrator
Marcin Szczygielski, Author
Józef Wilkoń, Illustrator Web page

Portugal
Andante, Organisation http://www.andante.com.pt/
Bernardo P. Carvalho, Illustrator Web page
Maria Teresa Maia Gonzales, Author
Luísa Ducla Soares, Author
Catarina Sobral, Illustrator http://catarinasobral.com/

Romania
Silviu Baias, Illustrator
Andrea Kürti, Illustrator https://kurtiandi.com/
Cristiana Radu, Illustrator https://cristianaradu.com/

Russian Federation
Anastasia Arkhipova, Illustrator Web page
Nina Dashevskaya, Author
Russian State Children´s Library, Organisation
Alexander Traugot, Illustrator
Mikhail Yasnov, Author

Serbia
Ljubivoje Ršumović, Author

Slovenia
Slavko Pregl, Author
Anja Štefan, Author

South Africa
Biblionef, Organisation http://www.biblionefsa.org.za/
Niki Daly, Author/Illustrator https://nikidaly.wordpress.com/
Gcina Mhlope, Author/Oral storyteller/Promoter of reading Web page
Beverley Naidoo, Author http://www.beverleynaidoo.com/
The Bookery, Organisation https://thebookery.org.za/

Spain
Fundaciò Jordi Sierra i Fabra, Organisation Web page
Alfredo Gómez Cerdá, Author Web page
Elena Odriozola, Illustrator http://elenaodriozola.blogspot.com/

Sweden
Eva Eriksson, Illustrator Web page
Joanna Hellgren, Illustrator http://www.joannahellgren.com/
Olof Landström, Illustrator
Pija Lindenbaum, Author/Illustrator Web page
Eva Lindström, Author/Illustrator Web page
Frida Nilsson, Author Web page
Anna-Clara Tidholm, Illustrator Web page
Thomas Tidholm, Author http://www.thomas.tidholm.se/
Cecilia Torudd, Author/Illustrator
Jakob Wegelius, Author/Illustrator http://www.jakobwegelius.com/
Ilon Wikland, Illustrator
Monica Zak, Author Web page

Switzerland
Albertine, Illustrator http://www.albertine.ch/
Franz Hohler, Author http://www.franzhohler.ch/

Taiwan
Jimmy Liao, Author/Illustrator http://www.jimmyspa.com/

Turkey
Çocuk Vakfı (Children's Foundation), Organisation Web page
Fatih Erdoğan, Author/Promoter of reading Web page

Ukraine
Kost Lavro, Illustrator Web page
Zirka Menzatiuk, Author

United Kingdom
Allan Ahlberg, Author Web page
David Almond, Author http://davidalmond.com/
Malorie Blackman, Author https://www.malorieblackman.co.uk/
Quentin Blake, Illustrator https://www.quentinblake.com/
Book Aid International, Organisation https://bookaid.org/
Aidan Chambers, Author http://www.aidanchambers.co.uk/
Aidan & Nancy Chambers, Promoters of reading Web page
Michael Foreman, Author/Illustrator Web page
Daniel Hahn, Promoter of reading http://www.danielhahn.co.uk/
Shirley Hughes, Author/Illustrator Web page
Oliver Jeffers, Author/Illustrator http://www.oliverjeffers.com/
Elizabeth Laird, Author http://www.elizabethlaird.co.uk/
Michelle Magorian, Author http://www.michellemagorian.com/
Margaret Meek Spencer, Promoter of reading
Daniel Morden, Author/Oral storyteller
Michael Morpurgo, Author https://www.michaelmorpurgo.com/
Patrick Ness, Author https://patrickness.com/
Luke Pearson, Author/Illustrator https://lukepearson.com/
Jan Pienkowski, Illustrator http://www.janpienkowski.com/home.htm
Chris Riddell, Illustrator http://www.chrisriddell.co.uk/
Katherine Rundell, Author Web page
Marcus Sedgwick, Author https://marcussedgwick.com/
John Shelley, Illustrator https://www.jshelley.com/
David Wood, Author http://www.davidwood.org.uk/

United States
Laurie Halse Anderson, Author http://madwomanintheforest.com/
Judy Blume, Author http://www.judyblume.com/
LeVar Burton, Promoter of reading
Eric Carle, Author/Illustrator http://www.eric-carle.com/home.html
Children's Literature New England, Organisation http://clne.org/
Kate DiCamillo, Author https://www.katedicamillo.com/
Margarita Engle, Author http://www.margaritaengle.com/
Maira Kalman, Author/Illustrator http://www.mairakalman.com/
Stephen Krashen, Promoter of reading http://www.sdkrashen.com/
Gregory Maguire, Author/Promoter of reading Web page
Christopher Myers, Author/Illustrator http://www.kalyban.com/
Neighborhood Bridges, Organisation Web page
Peter Sís, Illustrator http://petersis.com/
Tim Tingle, Oral storyteller http://www.timtingle.com/
Mildred Taylor, Author
Jack Zipes, Author/Promoter of reading

Zambia
Lubuto Library Partners, Organisation https://www.lubuto.org/