About the Astrid Lindgren-conference

Jacqueline Woodson, photo Stefan Tell

Jacqueline Woodson and Carole Bloch to the Astrid Lindgren-conference

The ALMA laureates Jacqueline Woodson and Carol Bloch will speak at the Astrid Lindgren Conference that takes place in Stockholm on the day of Astrid Lindgren's birthday, November 14.

Candidates 2020

Next year, 237 candidates from 68 countries will be in the running for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. This was announced today by ALMA jury member Mats Kempe at the Frankfurt Book Fair.
Illustration: Karin Cyren

The nominees are...

The ALMA jury will announce the names of the candidates nominated for the 2020 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award at the Frankfurt Book Fair. Will you be there? Please join us at the Kids Foyer on October 17 at 2 PM.

Meet this year’s ALMA laureate at the Book Fair!

On September 26–27, Bart Moeyaert will attend the Gothenburg Book Fair. He has a busy schedule of events planned, including author conversations, poetry readings, book signings and interviews. We hope to see you there! During the fair ALMA will be present at the Swedish Art Council's stand C02:01. Hope to see you there!

Tips on books to enjoy this summer!

Finally summer is here - check out these reading tips on books by ALMA laureates! The ALMA office will now close for summer holidays and will open again on August 5th. We wish you all a wonderful summer!
Crown Princess Victoria and Bart Moeyaert

Highlights from the award ceremony

On Monday evening, the Belgian author Bart Moeyaert received the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award at a ceremony in the Stockholm Concert Hall. Watch the highlights and hear the very much appreciated speech!
Author Meg Rosoff, the ALMA laureate from 2016

“Pace yourself”

We asked author Meg Rosoff, the ALMA laureate from 2016, if she had any sage advice for this year’s laureate. "Pace yourself, when everyone is tugging at your sleeve, wanting to ask you things and hear what you’re thinking. But above all, I say relax and enjoy it!”
Suzi Ersahin, foto Kerstin Lager

Suzi Ersahin becomes new director at ALMA

We are happy to announce Suzi Ersahin as the new director for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA). "It is with enormous joy that I look forward to leading the work of the world’s most important children’s literature prize." Suzi Ersahin will assume the post in September 2019, replacing Helen Sigeland, who retires in October.

The Flemish author Bart Moeyaert is the laureate of Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2019

Bart Moeyaert was born in 1964 and lives in Antwerp, Belgium. He made his debut at age 19 with the award-winning novel Duet met valse noten (1983). His large and diverse body of work includes more than 50 titles, ranging from picture books and YA novels to poetry. His critically acclaimed books have been translated in more than 20 countries. He also writes television screenplays and stage plays, has translated a number of novels, and teaches creative writing.
Foto Stefan Tell

"Sleep lots so that you can enjoy it all!"

Author Jacqueline Woodson shares three of her top tips for the incoming laureate.
Members of the jury at a meeting.Photo: Mediemerah

"It feels a little bit like reaching the finish line after a long race."

What is life like for our jury on the eve of the announcement? Are they feeling the heat from people who can’t wait to know? We quizzed five jury members about the challenging but rewarding job of choosing the 2019 ALMA laureate.
Author Meg Rosoff, photo: Stefan Tell

Meg Rosoff visits Sweden

Meg Rosoff is in Sweden on March 13-14. Take the opportunity to listen to the smart and eloquent ALMA laureate when she visits Stockholm and Umeå!

Knighthood for Philip Pullman

Author and 2005 ALMA-laureate Philip Pullman has been knighted in the British Queen’s New Year Honours list. Congratualtions for this well-deserved recognition of his work for authors and literature!
Link to: More about Astrid Lindgren

Good literature gives the child a place in the world and the world a place in the child.

Poster of the 2019 laureate Bart Moeyaert
Link to Reading Guides