Skip to main content (press Enter)
A child, reading a book


The nominations play a significant role in developing a knowledge bank for international children’s and young adult literature. It forms the basis for the jury’s work of finding a laureate who, in the spirit of Astrid Lindgren, have made a truly significant contribution to children’s and young adult literature or reading promotion.

Knowledge of children's and young people's literature

The nominating bodies must have extensive and in-depth knowledge of children’s and young adult literature. Nominating bodies can be international, national or regional organisations such as research institutes connected to children’s literature and projects to encourage reading, children’s book institutes, author and illustrator organisations, children’s departments and literary centres at national libraries. Ministries for culture or their equivalents are invited to make nominations in areas where reading promoting organisations do not exist.

The jury calls for nominations

The jury has selected organisations and institutions with good knowledge of authors, illustrators, storytellers and activities that encourage reading in their countries or regions. All countries are invited to nominate in order to promote their literature for young readers and to stimulate reading promotion. The jury and previous laureates also have the right to suggest candidates. No groups or individuals may apply or nominate themselves.

Nominating bodies for the 2021 award

Nominating bodies for the 2022 award

Proposals for nominators 

We welcome new proposals for qualified nominees. Please contact Lisa Haglund via e-mail or phone +46765401053.